CARES Act Assistance for State and Local Governments

In March 2020, the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act was signed into law.

This over $2 trillion economic relief package protects the American people from the public health and economic impacts of COVID-19.

Your municipality may be eligible for funds under the CARES Act to upgrade your technology to better respond to changes in procedure and policy due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Below is an excerpt about the CARE Act regarding assistance for State, Local and Tribal Governments. More information can be found on the US Treasury website at

Your state representative can also provide further guidance.

The CARES Act established the $150 billion Coronavirus Relief Fund.

Treasury has made payments from the Fund to States and eligible units of local government; the District of Columbia and U.S. Territories (the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the United States Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands); and Tribal governments (collectively “governments”).

The CARES Act requires that the payments from the Coronavirus Relief Fund only be used to cover expenses that —

  1. are necessary expenditures incurred due to the public health emergency with respect to the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID–19);
  2. were not accounted for in the budget most recently approved as of March 27, 2020 (the date of enactment of the CARES Act) for the State or government; and
  3. were incurred during the period that begins on March 1, 2020, and ends on December 30, 2020.

Amounts paid to States, the District of Columbia, U.S. Territories, and eligible units of local government are based on population as provided in the CARES Act. The CARES Act directs Treasury to use U.S. Census Bureau data for the most recent year for which data is available. The amount of payments made to each State was reduced by the aggregate amount of payments that was disbursed to eligible local governments within such State that provided the required certifications to Treasury.

A unit of local government eligible for receipt of direct payment includes a county, municipality, town, township, village, parish, borough, or other unit of general government below the State level with a population that exceeds 500,000. Eligible local governments were required to submit the certification required by the CARES Act to Treasury by 11:59 pm Eastern Daylight Time on Friday, April 17 in order to receive payment.

Coronavirus Relief Fund Guidance for State, Territorial, Local, and Tribal Governments [PDF]

Coronavirus Relief Fund Frequently Asked Questions [PDF]

Data sources and the distribution methodology for units of local government [PDF]

# # #

More guidance and resources regarding CARE Act for State and local governments can be found here: